Title Image

Announcing: Kansas Reflector

Announcing: Kansas Reflector

For Immediate Release
July 21, 2020

Contact:
Jillian Susi – [email protected]

States Newsroom Launches the Kansas Reflector 

Veteran Kansas Journalist Sherman Smith to Lead 

Topeka, KS – Today, States Newsroom, the nation’s leading network of state-based nonprofit news outlets announced the launch of Kansas Reflector. The outlet will be staffed by professional journalists with insight and experience in Kansas reporting and is States Newsroom’s 18th newsroom and sixth in the Midwest. 

2020 has been a tumultuous time for this country and especially for the state of Kansas. With the recent rise in positive COVID-19 cases, the reopening of schools in the fall, and one of the most decisive election seasons in decades, now more than ever Kansans need accessible, factual and unbiased reporting of state government and local issues. 

“I am proud and excited to lead this team of talented journalists as we keep Kansans informed,” said Sherman Smith, Kansas Reflector’s Editor in Chief. “During these troubling, uncertain times, we are more motivated than ever to pursue stories that otherwise wouldn’t be told and to amplify the voices of people impacted by decisions made in the Statehouse.”

The Kansas Reflector will be led by a team of accomplished and seasoned journalists determined to bring extensive coverage of how the decisions made in Topeka will tangibly affect the daily lives of Kansans without bias and for free. This team will provide in-depth investigations, coverage of government actions, commentary through podcasts, interactive graphics, photos and videos in order to help readers make sense of state policy. 

“States Newsroom was founded with the guiding principle that everyone, despite wherever they are, deserves access to high-quality, non-partisan journalism for free. No paywalls and no political spin,” said Chris Fitzsimon, Director and Publisher of States Newsroom. “What we have done is provide a model that delivers steadfast community journalism and we are excited for the great reporting from the Reflector.” 

Previously, Fitzsimon founded and led NC Policy Watch, North Carolina’s leading news and commentary outlet, before launching what was to become States Newsroom in 2017.

States Newsroom is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that is funded exclusively by the generous contributions of readers and philanthropists. States Newsroom is committed to providing fact-based, non-partisan news to the public at no cost and ad-free.

Other States Newsroom affiliates and partners are:

Arizona Mirror – https://www.azmirror.com/ 
Colorado Newsline – https://coloradonewsline.com/ 
Florida Phoenix – https://www.floridaphoenix.com/ 
Georgia Recorder – https://georgiarecorder.com/
Iowa Capital Dispatch – https://iowacapitaldispatch.com/ 
Louisiana Illuminator – https://lailluminator.com/
Maine Beacon – http://mainebeacon.com/ 
Maryland Matters – https://www.marylandmatters.org/ 
Michigan Advance – https://www.michiganadvance.com/
Minnesota Reformer – https://minnesotareformer.com/ 
Nevada Current – https://www.nevadacurrent.com/ 
NC Policy Watch – http://www.ncpolicywatch.com/ 
Ohio Capital Journal – https://www.ohiocapitaljournal.com/ 
Pennsylvania Capital-Star – https://www.penncapital-star.com/ 
Tennessee Lookout – https://www.tennesseelookout.com/ 
Virginia Mercury – https://www.virginiamercury.com/ 
Wisconsin Examiner – https://wisconsinexaminer.com/ 
 

###