Title Image

Announcing: Colorado Newsline

Announcing: Colorado Newsline

For Immediate Release
July 1, 2020

Contact:
Jillian Susi – [email protected]

States Newsroom Launches Colorado Newsline

Veteran Colorado Journalists to Staff New Outlet
 

Denver, CO – Today, States Newsroom, the nation’s leading network of state-based nonprofit news outlets announced the launch of Colorado Newsline. The outlet will be staffed by professional journalists with experience in Colorado reporting, and is States Newsroom’s 17th newsroom. 

Based in Denver, Newsline will publish stories about state government and policy and will cover a range of issues that affect Colorado readers’ daily lives, such as health care, climate change, oil and gas, the justice system, water, the economy and education.

“With local newsrooms closing all over the country, there are important and vital stories that are being missed and underreported” said Newsline Editor-in-Chief Quentin Young. “Coloradans deserve high-quality local reporting, and that’s what we are promising to provide with the launch of the Newsline.”

Young​ is an award-winning journalist who has served as a reporter and editor at the Boulder Daily Camera, Longmont Times-Call and other Colorado outlets. His career includes stints covering news, writing editorials, and reviewing art exhibitions and theater. His in-depth story, published in 5280, about the FBI special agent who led a raid on the Rocky Flats nuclear weapons plant earned top investigative reporting honors from the Colorado chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Before joining Newsline, Quentin served as the Boulder Daily Camera opinion page editor. 

“At States Newsroom, we are on a mission to create outlets at the state-level to ensure that no matter who you are or where you live, you can access high-quality, non-partisan reporting about issues close to home,” said Chris Fitzsimon, Director and Publisher of States Newsroom. “We look forward to seeing the great reporting that comes out of Colorado and all of our other outlets.”

Previously, Fitzsimon founded and led NC Policy Watch, North Carolina’s leading news and commentary outlet, before launching what was to become States Newsroom in 2017.

States Newsroom is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that is funded exclusively by the generous contributions of readers and philanthropists. States Newsroom is committed to supporting fact-based, non-partisan news to the public at no cost and ad-free.

Other States Newsroom affiliates and partners are:

Arizona Mirror – https://www.azmirror.com/ 
Florida Phoenix – https://www.floridaphoenix.com/ 
Georgia Recorder – https://georgiarecorder.com/
Iowa Capital Dispatch – https://iowacapitaldispatch.com/ 
Louisiana Illuminator – https://lailluminator.com/
Maine Beacon – http://mainebeacon.com/ 
Maryland Matters – https://www.marylandmatters.org/ 
Michigan Advance – https://www.michiganadvance.com/
Minnesota Reformer – https://minnesotareformer.com/ 
Nevada Current – https://www.nevadacurrent.com/ 
NC Policy Watch – http://www.ncpolicywatch.com/ 
Ohio Capital Journal – https://www.ohiocapitaljournal.com/ 
Pennsylvania Capital-Star – https://www.penncapital-star.com/ 
Tennessee Lookout – https://www.tennesseelookout.com/ 
Virginia Mercury – https://www.virginiamercury.com/ 
Wisconsin Examiner – https://wisconsinexaminer.com/ 

###